Twilight vs The Hunger Games

Don’t you just love when you find a book that you literally can’t put down? Even better a trilogy you can’t stop reading? Well I most certainly found that in The Hunger Games.

It was strange, after I finished my marathon reading of the Twilight Saga last summer, I was at a loss for what to read next. I wanted something equally fantastical and gripping, so while on my way to Waterstones I text my friend in Holland to ask her if she had any suggestions. She recommended that I get Suzanne Collins The Hunger Games.

So off I traipsed to the now all too familiar teenage section, although in hindsight I don’t really think The Hunger Games qualifies as a teenage book, it’s pretty dark. Anyway, I picked up the first book, read the synopsis on the back cover  and put it back down again. Never one for too much blood and guts the idea of people being made to kill each other for other people’s entertainment counted on my list of unnecessary gore.

You might well ask why then did I decide to read it after all. I guess the main reason for that was due to the fact that I had been so dismissive of the Twilight Saga before I read it, but when I finally did, I was hooked. Based on that and my curiosity over the film’s hype, I decided not to let my prejudice get the better of me this time.

Turns out, I made the right decision. To start with I bought the first book about two weeks ago, but within a few days I was back for more. Katniss Everdeen, the enigmatic and fearless heroin, who I now rate as a serious hard core female role model and her fight against President Snow and the Capitol had me gripped. Literally; on the tube, before I went to bed, when I woke up, I was constantly reading.

Jennifer Lawrence as Katniss Everdeen

I finished the last book, Mockingjay this afternoon, I stayed in bed with a cup of tea until 2pm finishing it, something I haven’t done in ages. When I read the line of the book I felt lost, I wanted to read more!

Now I’m going to be controversial and just say it, I think that The Hunger Games is better than the Twilight saga! There I’ve said it, agree or disagree, that’s my opinion!

Mockingjay

The next thing on my agenda is to watch the first film, I’m sure some of the gore will be too much for me to handle, but I really want to see it. I make it a policy not to see a film before having read the book, despite the fact that I’m always undoubtedly disappointed by the film. However, I’m under good authority that it’s very good. So much so that one of my female friends admitted that she now has a girl crush on Jennifer Lawrence, who I’ve heard is fantastic as Katniss. Unfortunately I am now going to have to wait until next weekend to watch the film, it better be worth the wait!

Now all I have to do is to find an equally gripping book to read next. I’ve no idea where to start looking though, so if you have any suggestions, please let me know what I should be reading.

1 Comment

Filed under Books

One response to “Twilight vs The Hunger Games

  1. So my verdict on The Hunger Games film; I really enjoyed it! Although as always I preferred the book, there is just no comparison. What I really liked was the fact that Suzanne Collins was involved in the writing the screenplay. Jennifer Lawrence is absolutely fabulous as Katniss and the Capitol and their bizarre outfits and hairdos are brilliant. I’m looking forward to film two and three now!

Leave a Reply

