1.6 litre diesel engine, eh what?

Vauxhall Ampera, winner of the WhatCar? Green car of the year award 2011

I’ve always been one of those girls who would ask someone what colour their car was, nothing else ever made much sense to me. However, that all changed when I started working in PR and a few of my clients were fleet companies. Suddenly I had to learn all the jargon. I had to start paying attention to car models, engine sizes, mileage, CO2 emissions, you name it. Nowadays I can hold a relatively coherent conversation on these formerly alien subjects. I impress even myself sometimes!

I visited EcoVelocity 2011 at Battersea Power Station this afternoon to do a bit of research and to have a look around. To be honest, I didn’t quite know what to expect – apart from car’s obviously – but I really enjoyed it. All the big names were there displaying their eco friendly cars.  From the Evelio K1 electric Supercar to the Vauxhall Ampera winner of the WhatCar? green car of the year and the Nissan LEAF there was something for everyone.

There was even something for me. I’ve always been a bit of a closet Mini Cooper fan. Today I was allowed to sit in the Mini 1.6D Cooper and … I’m afraid there’s no going back for me now!

Mini 1.6D Cooper

Isn’t is gorgeous? Being quite small myself I thought it was a perfectly snug fit, I could definitely see myself driving one of these!

Maybe one day… I’ll just have to keep dreaming for now!

Leave a comment

Filed under London

Leave a Reply

