Observations

Incense

Incense


Today was a rather hectic day in the office. I have a good few articles to write at the moment; they just keep piling up. Everyone is asking me to go to interviews, press conferences and to write numerous articles on various different topics, which I don’t really mind as it keeps me busy and I get to try a bit of everything. So far I have done book reviews, interviews, covered press conferences and launches and I have been asked to do a big feature on an art school next week. Dilanthi and Aisha have asked me if I would like to do more for the youth section, a supplement that comes out every Friday, which is something I am more than happy to do as it could be quite interesting.

I really do like the Sri Lankan people; they very kind and giving people. What I find particularly endearing about them is their head wobbling; it gets me every time! It’s just so … I don’t know how to describe it, but it’s so characteristic of the Sri Lankans and very charming. If you watch them in conversation the heads of both people are constantly wobbling from side to side. Sometimes when I’m talking to someone and I ask them a question and they start to wobble their head as an affirmative, I have to remind myself that it means ‘yes’, rather than ‘no’. It is very hard to say no to a head wobble!

Buddhist worshippers


The children here are just beautiful, they really are gorgeous and smiley, already at a young age. On the way home on the bus last night a young Buddhist monk, about 12 or so was sitting a few rows in front of me. He was a beautiful kid and it made me very curious about their religion and mentality. I would have loved to sit down and chat to him, but they are solitary people who don’t like being disturbed, or so I’ve been told anyway.

Boy contemplating


It would be very interesting to visit a Buddhist monastery and to talk to the monks, in particular the young ones. Some of the young Buddhist monks are orphans who have been brought up and educated by the monks. Others have been sent by their parents at a very young age in order to get a good education. They are obliged to stay there until they are 18, after which they can chose if they want to stay on, dedicating their life to Buddhism or they can leave. For the families it is a good way of ensuring their children get a good education especially if the family is poor.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sri Lanka

Leave a Reply

